Home | Contact | Latest Updates | Forum | Search
Latest News:
Spirit and White Wine Vinegar
Spirit and Wine Vinegar

By Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Posted: 28 Safar 1423, 11 May 2002

Q.) I would be grateful if you could tell me whether spirit vinegar and wine vinegar are halal. I remember reading somewhere that because of the chemical process involved in distiling the vinegar it was not considered alcohol. Is this true?


A.) It is true. Spirit and wine vinegar, both are halal.

And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

see also: http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/viewquestion.php?foodqid=27&catID=1&compID=1

Further reading

Spirit vinegar is halal.but Wine vinegars are not halal. Hanafi & shaafi fiqh consider it as haraam
2011-11-03 03:05:00

Add a Comment:



Note: No HTML link code is permitted using this form.
Current Message Length: 0/6000 char(s)

Please enter the number above in the box